Four fun ways to help kids serve: food drive edition

     Pool, pool, pool.Play, play, play. Relax, relax, relax.
     It’s easy for me to let my kids’ summer activities get a little hollow and “me” centered.
     Following Jesus’ own example, we want to use our summer as an opportunity for service.  Matthew 20:28 tells us “the Son of Man did not come to be served but to serve…” (NIV).IMG_5162
     This week our children are participating in a summer food drive for our local food bank with their swim team. Being on the team has already helped build their bodies and character so I am so happy they now have a chance to give back to the community as a team.
     Each specific day has an item category to bring (breakfast, lunch, dinner, hygiene, etc.), and the different age groups have made a little competition out of which one can bring the most. The event will culminate with a charity swim pool party on Saturday night. Last year the team collected 513 pounds of food, and we’re trying to beat the goal this year.IMG_5170
     To maximize my teaching opportunities from this event, here is what I did:
1. I took the children grocery shopping with me. I allowed them to choose some of the items.
2. I let them financially contribute a small amount. (I discussed with my oldest child how much items cost so he could understand exactly what he was giving.)
3. We are following the schedule and bringing in the item-of-the-day each day instead of all at once. This will reinforce giving every day even though it would be easier for me to clear the stuff out of my house sooner.
4. We’re gonna PARTY! The admission cost to the charity swim is a non-perishable dinner. This will provide a final reminder and a fun celebration opportunity.
     On Saturday (July 11) we’ll keep the service fun going with Cheer Up the Lonely Day. Weird Unsocialized Homeschoolers has some great ideas for how to bring joy to those most needing it on this special day.

     What about you? What service opportunities have you done with your children over the summer?

Linking up at Weird Unsocialized Homeschoolers Weekly Wrap-Up,  Raising Homemakers, and Grace and Truth.

About Forever Joyful

I am a devoted wife, mother of three great kids and, most importantly, a follower of Jesus Christ. I love long summer days, photography and stealing quiet moments for writing.
This entry was posted in Service. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Four fun ways to help kids serve: food drive edition

  1. Dawn says:

    What a beautiful way to give back.
    Blessings, Dawn

    Like

  2. Mommy A to Z says:

    I’m a big believer in getting kids involved with service to the community. My daughter and I went a few months ago to make PB&Js for the homeless in NYC, and I think she learned a lot and made a real contribution. Thanks for sharing this great experience at the Manic Mondays blog hop!

    Like

Leave a Reply

