DIY: Micah 6:8 Hand and Footprint Wall Hanging

One of my favorite Scripture verses is Micah 6:8. “He has shown you, O mortal, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.”

 Untitled-1_edited-1
I happen to have three kids so I loved letting them each have a part in making this fun wall-hanging (including my little sweet baby). My baby lent his footprints, my daughter did the handprints, and my oldest made the heart with his fists. You can modify however you need to fit the number of children in your family.

IMG_3608 copy
1. Gather supplies. You will need three 10” canvases (size can be changed if your kids are older/larger), paint (background color and print color), sponge brush, paint pens, ribbon, ruler, scissors and hot glue gun. I used leftover paint from my kitchen as the background so it matches my walls perfectly.
2. Paint background with sponge brush. Kids can do this part. Make sure to get the edges. Dark colors may require two coats. Allow ample time for drying completely.
3. Paint hands for handprint and press thoroughly onto canvas. One child could do both prints. Several children could do one print each if you have a larger family.
4. Paint feet (or foot) for footprint and press thoroughly onto canvas. If you don’t have a baby (think small foot), you may consider having only one footprint running lengthwise along the canvas.
5. Paint pinkie sides of hands, have student hold in heart shape, and press onto canvas. You can also outline the heart. If you child prefers, you could use a stencil to draw a heart or even freehand. There are tons of options on this one.
6. Add writing with a paint pen. I like the metallics. Different translations say “Do justly,” “Do justice,” “love mercy,” “love kindess,” etc. Choose whichever you prefer. I allowed my oldest son to freehand in cursive (after some practice on scrap paper) and my daughter to trace dotted print letters. I did the lettering on my baby’s foot canvas. You can handle divvying up writing responsibilities however you like.
7. Turn canvases over and glue ribbons along backs. I used a ruler to measure the space between canvases and ribbons so it would be equal. Cut a small ribbon hook to put on back if you want to hang over a nail. I mounted mine to the side of my cabinet with special wall mounts.
8. Enjoy remembering to honor God daily each time you see your children’s creation.

scripts.com/”>fast-transcripts
If you need help with your high school transcripts, don’t forget to enter the Fast Transcripts giveaway.
Giveaway: 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

I received no monetary compensation for this giveaway. The opinions are my own. I did receive a copy of Fast Transcripts to try. I hope you like it as much as I do. Good luck!

Linking up at: Literacy Musing Monday, Inspire Me MondayMom 2 Mom, Mama  MomentsManic Mondays,Life of Faith,  Raising Homemakers, Titus 2sdaysMissional Women,  Wise Woman, Tell It To Me Tuesdays, Works for me Wednesdays,  Coffee and Conversation,Hearts for HomeMom’s Library, The Mommy Club, and Grace and Truth.

About Forever Joyful

I am a devoted wife, mother of three great kids and, most importantly, a follower of Jesus Christ. I love long summer days, photography and stealing quiet moments for writing.
This entry was posted in Activities and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DIY: Micah 6:8 Hand and Footprint Wall Hanging

  1. What a great idea and that verse – just beautiful. Those sweet baby footprints – thank you for the “how to”. Found you through your comment on Mary and Martha’s House. So glad I did!!

    Like

  2. Marisa says:

    Love it! So excited to try it someday soon!

    Like

  3. Marissa says:

    These are adorable! And we love the Mich 6:8 verse… Might have to do this for a gift…. Thanks for sharing

    Stopping over from Mom’s Morning Coffee

    Marissa

    Like

  4. Pingback: Hearts for Home Blog Hop - 8.20.15 - Apron Strings & other things

Leave a Reply

