On Boys: Thoughts of a Preschooler

Do not let your adornment be merely outward—arranging the hair, wearing gold, or putting on fine apparel—  rather let it be the hidden person of the heart, with the incorruptible beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is very precious in the sight of God. – 1 Peter 3:3-4 (NKJV)

“Mom, I want to look pretty for B-.”

“If I wear this, maybe the boys will think I’m too pretty.”

IMG_3180 copy

I was completely shocked when these phrases came tumbling out of my sweet, innocent little three-year-old’s mouth while getting ready for church a few years ago.

Where did they come from? My husband and I try hard to guard our children’s hearts and minds and certainly don’t promote our young kids having boyfriends and girlfriends. We’re careful about the media they watch and the books they read. What’s happening?

Later at church, I told Mr. B’s Mama what my daughter had said, and we shared a nice laugh. A few days later, it finally sank in. My daughter is already hardwired with femininity. She wants to look beautiful. She wants to be noticed.

It’s our job as parents to make sure she grows up in a wholesome environment that teaches her to be beautiful from the inside out. And, of course, to wait on a boyfriend until she’s about 60 old enough to seek out a godly young man who will lead her and their future children in a life of godliness.

Thankfully, my daughter’s interest in impressing Mr. B- passed and nothing of the kind has resurfaced since, but the incident served to keep me on my toes. Our world is not wholesome. I’m humbled daily by the task of raising children who will have wholesome values despite their environment. I would love to hear about wholesome ways you’re raising your children in an unwholesome world.

Link parties I love: Literacy Musing Monday, Inspire Me MondayMom 2 Mom, Mama  MomentsManic Mondays,Life of FaithTitus 2sdaysMissional Women,  Wise Woman, Tell It To Me Tuesdays, Raising HomemakersWorks for me Wednesdays,  Coffee and Conversation,Hearts for HomeMom’s Library, The Mommy Club, and Grace and Truth.

About Forever Joyful

I am a devoted wife, mother of three great kids and, most importantly, a follower of Jesus Christ. I love long summer days, photography and stealing quiet moments for writing.
This entry was posted in Holiness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On Boys: Thoughts of a Preschooler

  1. It’s so amazing what we can learn about our Creator simply from observing children! I’m sure your daughter is beautiful inside and out and will grow up to please the Lord.

    Like

  2. Wow indeed! I have four boys so things are a bit different around here.
    Thanks for linking up with Grace & Truth this week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

